Citrus Contemporary Final Result

This was probably one of my easiest projects because my client had many good pieces for me to work with, including a beautiful Karastan rug, a neutral sofa in great condition, side tables, side chairs and several art pieces.  Sounds great, right?  So what was the problem?  As I mentioned in my first post on this project, almost everything in the space was the exact same color.  She’d done what many homeowners do when faced with choosing color:  she over-beiged.

Here is a look at the room before:

"Before" shot of the room

“Before” shot of the room

BEFORE_diningarea

 

The beige bridge artwork and fun but also beige monkey console table blend into the beige wall.  The wood tones of the furniture blend into the floor because they are the same.  The sofa is swallowed by the wall and rug, and did you even notice that there’s a fireplace?

The plan was to liven things up a bit with a splash of citrus:

citrus_contemp_concept

And if you missed my previous post, here is another look at the designs:

render4_fireplace2

I lightened the walls to brighten the space overall, then darkened the fireplace mantel to add contrast and make it more of a focal point.  I replaced her dining set with a set in an espresso finish to again provide contrast, anchored the space with an area rug in a similar color palette, and proposed a dramatic light fixture.

render3_dining2

I moved the sofa off of the far wall and put the fun monkey console table behind it.  I kept her side tables but added a new bright yellow one, and a carved tribal coffee table.

render2_accentwall

Here’s how it all turned out:

Citrus Contemporary Living Room by Black Cat Interiors

Photos courtesy of Doug Wieringa Photography

Amazing what a difference a few pillows can make, and I love how well the tables all work together.

Citrus Contemporary Living Room Makeover by Black Cat Interiors

Photos courtesy of Doug Wieringa Photography

I moved her bridge artwork to the side wall, and now that the walls are lighter, they’re much more noticeable:

Citrus Contemporary Living Room Makeover by Black Cat Interiors

Photos courtesy of Doug Wieringa Photography

I love this light fixture so much, I’m getting one for my own house.  Simple yet dramatic.

Citrus Contemporary Dining Room Makeover by Black Cat Interiors

Photos courtesy of Doug Wieringa Photography

Citrus Contemporary Dining Room Makeover by Black Cat Interiors

Photos courtesy of Doug Wieringa Photography

A new buffet provides additional storage, and allowed me to add more light and artwork to the space:

Citrus Contemporary Dining Room Makeover by Black Cat Interiors

Photos courtesy of Doug Wieringa Photography

Leave a Reply

