Revisiting My 1st Project

As I have time, I try to improve my company website little by little.  Recently, I revised the page for one of my first projects – one of the more popular pages on my site, and from what I’ve been told, a hands down favorite of all of my projects for many who’ve viewed my work.  Since this project was B.B (“Before Blogging”), I’ve decided to share it here.  Excuse the grainy pictures – this was also B.C. (before I had a good camera :-)):

genderneutralnursery1

We didn’t know the sex of the baby so the design had to be gender neutral. Yellow and green are obvious choices, so I added a bit of the unexpected.  I wrapped the yellow up onto the ceiling, framed the “sky” with crown moulding to create a skylight effect and strung miniature hot air balloons from it.  Since my client loves all things Disney, I blew up and framed 2 excerpts from a book featuring Disney characters on a hot air balloon adventure (the actual book awaits reading on a side table).

CIMG0927_edited3
Up, Up & Away – BEFORE

Everyone seems to love the hand painted sky and clouds on the ceiling.  They are easy to do – first paint the area sky blue.  Once that’s dry, dab with white paint to make the clouds.  I used a paint brush, but a sponge also works.

balloon30

I also framed 2 Disney prints on the side wall.

Up, Up & Away – Wall Art

I grabbed this side table at Goodwill for $4.99.  It was stained and wobbly originally, so I stabilized the leg with a new screw, sanded all of the previous stain off and refinished it in a blue-tinted off-white.  I added a blue cushion to the rocking chair, a present from the client’s grandmother:

Up, Up & Away – Rocker

CIMG0938

Here is the overall concept – you can see here how well all of the elements work together:

balloonnursery_concept

A few additional touches complete the room.

Up, Up & Away – Dresser Decor
Leave a Reply

