My next project is big

4 rooms…all at once – the biggest project I’ve done to date.  But I’m up for the challenge!

I asked all of the right questions, trying to pin down their style – the look they’re after, the colors they’d like to see.  In response, I got…nothing.

  • Style?  They had no idea.
  • Colors?  They like all colors.
  • Examples of things they like or don’t like?  Nope.
  • Budget?  “It costs what it costs” (i.e. unlimited :-))

What I did get after asking the same questions in various different ways is that they wanted the front media room to make a statement and that it could be fun and funky, whereas the other rooms should be a bit more serene.

I decided to feel them out, just doing the media and dining rooms to begin with before working on the lower living room and master bedroom.  In case my initial designs were WAY off, I didn’t want to waste time doing all four rooms.

They have a modern, denim blue, modular sofa that they had no idea how to arrange in the room.  They also had no idea how work with the blue (hence, the main reason I was brought in).  They said if I absolutely couldn’t work with it, it could go but their preference was to keep it.  I actually really love the sofa, so I worked backwards from that.  And to test them on whether or not they really like all colors, I decided to go with the pantone color of the year (radiant orchid) in the dining room and as the accent color in the media room.  Here are “before” photos:

BEFORE_livingroom

Media Room Before Photo

BEFORE_diningroom

Dining Room Before Photo

And here’s what I presented today:

  • Rough concepts (I threw these together quickly, not wanting to invest much time on them since I was expecting a lot to change)

GroverDiningConcept GroverMediaConcept

  • Quick renderings

MediaRoomRender_1_full DiningRoomRender_1

  • Then we took a tour through the Sketchup model:

Screen Shot 2013-12-14 at 2.01.41 PM Screen Shot 2013-12-14 at 2.03.28 PM Screen Shot 2013-12-14 at 2.04.35 PM Screen Shot 2013-12-14 at 2.05.31 PM

They were THRILLED with the designs, and I breathed a sigh of relief :-).  Next I’ll work on designs for the lower living room and master bedroom.

One thought on “My next project is big

  1. Pingback: My Big Project Just Got Bigger | Black Cat Interiors

Leave a Reply

