Neutral Glam “Before” and “Afters”

Due to having a red car, a red work-truck and a long red winter coat, many people ask me if red is my favorite color.  It isn’t.  The vehicles are red because of availability and necessity (i.e. if I could’ve found the truck I needed at the price I wanted in PURPLE, I would’ve bought it in a heartbeat).  I wouldn’t go so far as to say that I don’t like red, it’s just not one of my favorite colors and I actually struggled with choosing it as the accent in the Neutral Glam design.  But now I love how it turned out.  Let’s take a look at a few before and afters:

Here is a “before” view of the room through the main French doors:

nglam_before_fp

As a reminder, here is the rendered design from the same view:livingroom_render_v3

And here is the “after”:

nglam_after_fpI changed the buttery yellow wall color to a more sophisticated taupe, accented the fireplace inset with metallic paint and added a water feature (per the client’s request) as a focal point.

It’s not obvious from the “before” photo but I also added the chandelier, which is a big part of the “glam” in the design:

DSC01114

Here’s another “before” photo looking across the room towards the second set of French doors that lead into the office.  Note the artwork sitting on the floor against the wall:

nglam_before_rtdoor

And here is the same corner “after”:

nglam_after_rtdoorRemember the art work in the “before” photo?  I painted the green matte a soft cream, and the gold frame metallic black.  Small change, big difference:

DSC01103

I did the same to their other existing piece (the matte was formerly sky blue; frame was also gold) to tie them together and to the room:

DSC01098

 

Here’s a “before” shot looking from the office across the room (if you look carefully, you’ll see my daughter playing on the floor behind the coffee table :-)):

nglam_before_rightfp

And here it is “after”:

nglam_after_rightfp

 

You’ve probably noticed that I added privacy window film to the main French doors – this was also per the client’s request:

DSC01135It was inexpensive, easy to install and adds a nice touch.

For a bit more glam, I swapped their coffee table for a sleek, glass mirrored piece.  I LOVE the black glass top:

DSC01124

I also love the mirrored side tables – glam, glam, glam:

DSC01113

I maintain that red isn’t one of my favorite colors, but I’ll admit that it’s stunning in this room:

DSC01111

DSC01060

 

2 thoughts on “Neutral Glam “Before” and “Afters”

  1. Pingback: I haven’t forgotten my laundry room | Black Cat Interiors

  2. Pingback: TV Room Mini Makeover | Black Cat Interiors

Leave a Reply

