BCI Project – Comfy Coastal…Approved!

I showed the concept and 3D model to my client and she loved everything and approved everything…*except* – as expected – the wood panelling on the fireplace wall.  She liked the idea but was scared of the long-term commitment.

Concept Screen Shot 2013-06-01 at 8.31.47 AM

So we discussed alternatives and I told her I would get back to her with options.  After a quick search, I found this wallpaper which I love and thought was a perfect alternative:

Screen Shot 2013-05-13 at 7.57.07 PMSame effect but much easier to undo down the road.  I proposed this to her but she still wasn’t sold – also understandable, since wallpaper can be scary too.  So a few more traditional options:

1)  Keep it simple and just add artwork:
Screen Shot 2013-05-30 at 9.22.00 PM

2) Add a stripe to the wall highlight the oil rubbed bronze letters.  This would be done with paint and a stencil so could be any variety of colors/patterns.

Screen Shot 2013-05-30 at 7.56.17 PM

3) Add a series of some sort, maybe mirrors or metal art:

Screen Shot 2013-05-30 at 9.44.05 PM

 

4) The same concept with the wall painted blue (I liked this alternative best):

Screen Shot 2013-05-30 at 9.50.11 PM

 

5) A different take on the stripe and series:

Screen Shot 2013-05-30 at 10.06.54 PM

 

But having seen how nice the wood looks, then the same designs without the wood, my client has now fully converted and agreed to the actual wood paneling.  I know she’s nervous  but I’m sure she’ll love it in the end and will be glad she went for it.

The shopping process is slightly different this time because I sourced several items upfront during the design vs. shopping and letting the design come together as I go.   The first thing I tried to buy was the area rug –  the client loves it and I knew exactly where I’d seen it but as is  often the case for me on these projects, by the time I was ready to purchase it, it was out out of stock…everywhere.  *Sigh.*

BDbluechevronrug

 

After searching high and low, I was able to find this suitable replacement:

newchevronrugThe chevron is much bigger but the idea and colors are the same, so it will work.  Next, I went to purchase the distressed wood wall clock at the same store that had the original chevron rug and of course, same story…out of stock:

clockThis is one of the dangers of sourcing upfront – I’m now locked into finding these things, or suitable replacements or going back to the client for approval of another approach.  Luckily I was able to find one on ebay.  It was a bit more expensive but I saved on the chevron rug so we are still on track budget-wise.

I started with these because I thought they would be the easy purchases.  Not so much, and now I’m on to the hard stuff…

 

 

One thought on “BCI Project – Comfy Coastal…Approved!

  1. Pingback: BCI Project – Comfy Coastal – Final Result | blackcatinteriors

Leave a Reply

