BCI Project: Sophisticated Floral Nursery – Fabric Search

As I mentioned in my last post, I was inspired by this beautiful Dolce & Gabbana ad:

Dolce-Gabbana-Bouquet[1]Then I had to figure out how to translate it into an interior design for a nursery.

I started with the obvious – that lovely seafoam color went on the walls in my 3D model (to be shown later in the process), and I decided on all white furniture to represent the white in the ad.  Next, and most importantly in my opinion, I had to figure out how to represent that dress.  This could’ve been done in a number of ways, i.e. pops of color in accessories, an accent wall, the furniture (I briefly considered a purple recliner), there really is no wrong way to do it as long as you like it in the end, but – and you will hear me say this throughout this entire process since it guided most of my decisions – I wanted to capture the look and feel of the ad as closely as possible, so I went with a more literal translation:  floral fabric.

Sounds easy in theory, but I assure you that it wasn’t.  Floral nursery bedding?  Sure, no problem – there’s an abundance of it, right?  Yes, but none of it looks like that dress.  They are pastel pinks, yellows, peaches, lilacs, etc.  The patterns are tighter and more uniform – roses, daisies, tulips repeated over and over.  I searched and searched and searched…and finally gave up on finding pre-made bedding.

It makes sense if you think about it – Dolce & Gabbana would not have put any old fabric on their model.  The fabric would of course have to be the height of sophistication.  This is definitely not your grandmother’s floral.  And as such, it makes sense that it would be extremely difficult to find a match. Once I decided to make my own set however, it opened up an entire world of possibilities as there are endless fabrics to choose from but STILL I had difficulty time finding a match.

There’s no shortage of floral fabrics but SO many of them are traditional, and those that aren’t don’t come in the color palette I was looking for.  As a side note, there are places like Carousel where you can pick from their pre-selected fabrics and design your own custom bedding (which they make for you).  And they do have a pretty good selection of fabrics to choose from.  There are also lots of Etsy folks who’ll do the same for much less.  But neither had the fabric I was looking for.  So I kept searching, and after sifting through hundreds (probably thousands) of floral fabrics online and in-store, I finally found this:

teganprint

 

Look familiar?  It should.  It’s not the exact same fabric as the dress but it’s pretty d@*ned close.  Need a comparison?

fabriccompareYou can see the differences more clearly here but what’s important is that the palette is  right, the colors are vibrant (unlike most of the muted pastels used for baby girl bedding) and the pattern is NOT uniform.  It’s flirty, feminine, whimsical – exactly what the dress says to me.  I’m thrilled with it, and it’s even more gorgeous in person.  Still to come is the challenge of sewing my own crib bedding, but we’ll get to that later.

With the color scheme and focal point established, I could move on to my favorite part of the process:  art and accessories.  Next up, flowers flowers flowers everywhere.

 

 

One thought on “BCI Project: Sophisticated Floral Nursery – Fabric Search

  1. Pingback: BCI Project: Sophisticated Floral Nursery – Flower Balls « blackcatinteriors

Leave a Reply

