BCI Project: Sophisticated Floral Nursery

For anyone following my previous blog on the Master Bed & Bathroom project, I apologize for falling off the face of the Earth.  I was waylaid by a project that suddenly became a much higher priority…my own nursery.  I will eventually finish the Master Bedroom & Bathroom project, but since it is stalled, I decided to blog about my nursery in the meantime.

As usual, I wasn’t sure where to begin.  Ideas floated around in my head, color schemes, themes, etc.  I looked at baby stuff online but nothing struck me.  What I did know was that I didn’t want to buy a set – I didn’t want something that anyone could get at Babies R Us.  I didn’t want to do anything too obvious – I love pink (always have) but I wanted something less expected.  And I didn’t want anything that immediately screamed, “baby.”  I know this sounds counter-intuitive but I wanted a room that she can grow into, not something that will be too young for her within a few years.  And I personally didn’t want “cute”, I wanted “beautiful.”

So I kept my eyes and ears open, always looking for inspiration, and eventually…I found it.

Dolce-Gabbana-Bouquet[1]God bless Dolce & Gabbana.  Yes, a magazine ad for make-up.  This grabbed me immediately.  I love everything about it – the colors, the light, fresh, spring-time feeling, the elegant femininity.  Its beautiful, and I wanted my baby girl’s nursery to feel like this ad.

“How” – you may be asking –  “do you translate a magazine ad into an interior design?”  That’s exactly what I’m going to blog about.

Two things were easy:

1) Color scheme – handily established by the ad:

  • seafoam blue
  • white
  • pops of hot pink, yellow and purple

2) Theme – also inspired by the ad:  flowers, but not your typical baby stuff, no pink daisies here – this was going to be a modern, sophisticated floral.

So I drew the room in Sketchup (3D modeling program) and 3 more things became apparent:

  1. The majority of the ad is the seafoam  color, which I decided meant the main color in the room should be seafoam.  Paint color for walls, done.
  2. The color  scheme is toned down by white, but kept from being boring by pink, purple and yellow.
  3. The floral pattern in the ad is on her dress, so the most obvious place for the pattern in the room is on the fabrics.

In Sketchup I painted the walls seafoam, and decided on all white furniture to soften it just like in the ad.  Next, I began an exhaustive search for the perfect floral fabric, worthy of Dolce & Gabbana…

One thought on “BCI Project: Sophisticated Floral Nursery

  1. Pingback: BCI Project: Sophisticated Floral Nursery – Art Work « blackcatinteriors

Leave a Reply

