BCI Project: Master Bed & Bathroom 2

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I usually start with the bedding when designing a bedroom. I learned the hard way that if you are buying bedding off of the shelf (vs. selecting custom fabrics and having the bedding made…*sigh*…someday hopefully), it is MUCH easier to design around bedding, than to design the room and find bedding that fits in. So, after some searching, I found this:

I love this because it’s everything I’ve been looking for.  The neutral color palette is perfect for my clients and though the pattern may seem busy to some, remember that the entire room will be relatively monochromatic, so the interest will come from tone on tone patterns like these and textures.  I can easily see the walls in the main taupe color (maybe a shade or two lighter or darker) and luxurious curtains in the rich, dark mushroom brown of the accent pillow above, i.e. something like this (though perhaps less fussy):

And I can see mimicking the medallion shape on the bedding somewhere in the decor, i.e. wouldn’t this be great?

So now that I have a jumping off point, the fun begins…shopping!  As I did with the Alphabet Nursery, in my next posts I’ll discuss my purchases and how each plays a part as the design begins to come together.  I’m also likely to attempt to build the oversized, dramatic, tufted headboard which will be the star in the room (and also my first attempt at this, so it should be an interesting experience).  Stay tuned!

One thought on “BCI Project: Master Bed & Bathroom 2

  1. What’s your opinion on the curtains shown above? Too fussy? I love the color and the sheen but have mixed feelings about the ruching on the top. Would love to hear other opinions…

Leave a Reply

